you're reading...
BiggySmallin on a Budget, Don't be afraid to Try..., Nutrition/Cooking

BIGGYsmallin’ on a Budget, or $11 for a Salad ?! (Recipe)

So I went to Sweetgreen for the first time a few days ago, as they’ve opened a location right across the street from my office.  Overwhelmed by all of the healthy and tasty looking salads, I ordered the Santorini, a shrimp salad with mint, chickpeas and a cucumber-yogurt dressing.

Good news: That salad was SLAMMIN’ (and I don’t say anything is slammin’, but hey, it was).  This is not an ad for Sweetgreen, but it was super good.

This is a picture of the delicious Santorini Salad, from Sweetgreen.com

Bad news:  That slamming salad set me back $11.  $11!  I had forgotten how flush  my lunch budget was for a moment.  I remembered as I went back to report on the new restaurant to my coworkers.

I figured: “Shoot, I could have made a salad for $11….. Hey, I could make THAT salad for $11!”

And so, for my dear BIGGYsmalls, here it is.  I was shooting for $11 per serving, but was able to come in under $11 TOTAL, INCLUDING making the dressing, using a few things I had on hand.  For the foodies among us, I’m including a recipe for the dressing, which I think might even be better than the original (sorry Sweetgreen, I still love you though, it’s just cheaper to cook)!  My total costs are below both recipes.

BIGGYsmall “Slamtorini” Salad (makes 4 servings)

1 bag of mixed salad greens

1 can of chick peas (garbanzo beans) rinsed and drained

1/3 lb of medium (36-40) shrimp, deveined and  steamed  or sauteed

2 tablespoons of fresh mint leaves, chopped

1 large cucumber, sliced to about 2/3, reserve the other 1/3 for dressing

1/4 cup of feta cheese, crumbled ( I used “garlic and herb” flavored feta, but regular is fine)

Combine greens, drained chick peas, mint and feta and shrimp.  Serve with dressing below.

Slammin’ Salad Dressing (makes about 1/2 cup)

1/3 cucumber reserved from earlier                                                                      (should yield about 1 tablespoon pulp)

2 tablespoons of  lime juice (reserve some extra to taste)

3 tablespoons of vanilla or plain yogurt (greek style preferred)

1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil

1 pinch of black pepper

1 pinch of kosher or sea salt

1/2 teaspoon of sugar or to taste

1 tablespoon of fresh mint leaves, finely chopped

With a Microplane or the finest edge of a grater, grate the inside (white part) of the cucumber, until you have at least a tablespoon of pulp.  Add lime juice, mint leaves, yogurt, sugar, salt and pepper. Add about half of the olive oil.  Wisk to combine, adding a little more oil if needed to make the mixture smooth.

Chilled, the dressing will keep for about a week. (It won’t last that long, trust me!.)

My Grocery list ( I didn’t count the yogurt or olive oil since I already had it. Math Police, please don’t come after me!)

Chick peas (Garbanzo Beans)      $. 67

Bag of mixed Salad Greens    $2.50

Minus coupon for salad    -$.55

1/3 lb Fresh Steamed Medium Sized  Shrimp, on special $3.50

Fresh mint    $1.99

Fresh squeezed lime juicer (one of the plastic green do0hickeys) $.79

Cucumber  $.99

TOTAL: $9.89

Total per serving: $2.47

Happy Fitness (and savings),

Ms. Biggy Smalls

Discussion

One thought on “BIGGYsmallin’ on a Budget, or $11 for a Salad ?! (Recipe)

  1. Thanks!

    Posted by Robin | July 27, 2011, 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

