you're reading...
Get Your Mind Right, Motivation....Or Get Moving!

Breaking a Fear of Failure, or Fail Better

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter.

Try again. Fail again. Fail better.”

-Samuel Beckett 
Quote taken from Fail Up by Tavis Smiley.

I have been reading Fail Up (I’m aware of the political controversy with the author, that’s for someone else’s blog to address) for the past couple of weeks, and this quote hit home so hard I had to pause for a bit. How often do we associate a failure (ours or someone else’s) with an ending? Sometimes, its an impetus to try harder, try smarter, or try in another direction.

For example, I like to dance salsa, but am still very much a novice.  I joke with my friends that I’m “10 percent talent, 90 percent enthusiasm”. Its true! I’m no J-lo, but I do enjoy going out on the floor.

However, when I dance and step on a partner’s toes ( notice I didn’t bother to be cute and say “if”, it is a matter of “when”, for sure!) I say I’m sorry, he laughs to indicate its all good, and we keep dancing. I noticed yesterday when I went out, I stepped on fewer toes. I learned my dance partners’ moves a little quicker, and when I made a mistake, I picked back up right away. I’m not at “so u think you can dance” yet, but I’m failing better. I could make a mistake, forgive myself, and move on.

Couple dancing I think living healthy is in many ways the same. You are most likely going to fall off.  The question is, are you going to let that be the end of your story?

…or do you continue to dance?

Just something that was on my heart. Take something that has been a challenge or had stop-and-start progress, and pick it up again.

My challenge was salsa.

Weigh in this week: 189.0. Coming down slowly but surely!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: We Need a Resolution, or Perhaps A Better Solution « thebiggysmalllife - March 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

